WSU's Roll to lead Washington state Academy of Sciences

Thursday, July 22, 2021

The Washington State Academy of Sciences (WSAS) has named Washington State University faculty to hold the positions of incoming board president and three seats on the board. It also announced seven WSU faculty as new members of its 2021 class.

John Roll, professor and vice dean for research in the WSU Elson S. Floyd College of Medicine, is the president-elect of the WSAS Board of Directors.

“It is an honor to be elected president,” said Roll, who is also the associate vice president for strategic research initiatives at WSU Health Sciences. “Many outstanding scientists have preceded me in this role, and I will strive with the exceptional team at WSAS to continue their work. I relish the opportunity to contribute to a public conversation about the role of science in today’s world and enhance its role in our state. I will work to provide policymakers with the best available science the academy can muster to aid them in making decisions that maximize both short- and long-term benefit.”

Roll will be joined by three new board members from WSU: Celestina Barbosa-Leiker, vice chancellor for research, WSU Health Sciences; Douglas Call, Regents Professor, Paul G. Allen School for Global Health; and John Stark, director of the Washington Stormwater Center and professor of entomology.

The WSAS Board is responsible for the governance of the academy in support of its mission, “science in the service of Washington state.” The elected officers and board members will begin their terms at the conclusion of the annual members’ meeting on September 16, 2021.

In addition, seven WSU faculty will join WSAS as new members: